CD Power has been subcontracted for power station major maintenance and operator training across communities in remote South Australian towns serviced by the Remote Areas Energy Supplies (RAES) scheme.

The RAES Aboriginal Communities scheme provides electricity to Anangu Pitjantjatjara Yankunytjatjara (APY), Yalata and Oak Valley.

Other remote towns are serviced through the RAES State/Independent scheme. The RAES service area covers approximately 210,000 square kilometres and experiences extreme weather conditions. The State Government moved to consolidate up to four separate contracts servicing areas under the RAES Scheme. The five-year contract will see Cowell Electric operate the power stations and electricity distribution networks and provide meter readings and retail services.


CD Power has a back-to-back subcontract with Cowell Electric for the power station maintenance scope of the RAES contract. In the APY Lands, CD Power services the Central Power House (located at Umuwa) and the power station at Pipalyatjara. State power stations serviced by CD Power include Cockburn, Blinman, Glendambo, Kingoonya, Mannahill, Marla, Marree, Nundroo, Oodnadatta and Parachilna.

Providing major maintenance services to the RAES scheme complements CD Power’s other work across regional and remote South Australia, including servicing the Coober Pedy power station and numerous agricultural properties and small businesses.